I’ve recently posted 8 new CURIOUS PAINTINGS on my website. All bright, colorful and reminiscent of a bright and colorful Summer.

My new stuff continues my focus on focusing. I’d collected this particular shell on one of our many journeys to Crane Beach, or more probably in this shell’s instance to ajoining Steep Hill Beach, and brought it home to use as what, an ashtray? Nope, don’t smoke. Could take up smoking, in hopes of not totally wasting the boat trip to the beach, but probably not a good idea.  It’s a fairly small shell and, once filled with cigarrette ash, what do I do, go back to the beach for more shells? Could be a problem during the winter months when the river freezes over and boat access is reduced.

So, having narrowly avoided adding another addiction to my collection, I returned to focusing on focus.  Hyper-render the aquamarine/blue shell as if it were still sitting beachside in bright sunlight, add a subtle shadow to reinforce its quietness and trap it within an intense, contrasting gold ochre field to pop it out even further.

Viola! Whaddya got? A watercolor painting of an empty ashtray!!! Makes you want to smoke, just to give that damn empty shell something to do. Sublime!

